Appendix 2. Disclosures of conflicts of interest

Christopher Traenka has received research grants from the Swiss Heart Foundation. He has received personal research scholarships from the Novartis Foundation for biological and medical research, the Freiwillige Akademische Gesellschaft Basel, the Bangerter-Rhyner Foundation, and the University of Basel. He has received travel grants from Bayer.

Johannes Lorscheider has received research grants from Innosuisse – Swiss Innovation Agency, Biogen and Novartis. He has received consulting and/or speaking fees from Novartis, Roche and Teva.

Christian Hametner reports no disclosures.

Philipp Baumgartner reports no disclosures.

Jan Gralla reports receiving grants from Medtronic Global during the conduct of the study and grants from Swiss National Science Foundation outside the submitted work.

Mauro Magoni reports no disclosures.

Nicolas Martinez-Majander reports no disclosures.

Barbara Casolla has received speaker honoraria from Amgen (2021).

Katharina Feil reports no disclosures.

Rosario Pascarella reports no disclosures.

Pnagioatis Papanagiotou reports no disclosures.

Annika Nordanstig reports no disclosures.

Visnja Padjen travel or speaker honoraria from Boehringer Ingelheim and Pfizer; honoraria from scientific advisory board from Medtronic.

Carlo W. Cereda has received modest honoraria for scientific advisory board from iSchemaview and Bayer; Research grants from the Swiss Heart Foundation.

Marios Psychogios reports no disclosures.

Christian H. Nolte research grants from German Ministry of Research and Education, German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases, German Center for cardiovascular Research, and speaker and/or consultation fees from Abbott, Alexion, Boehringer Ingelheim, Bristol-Myers Squibb, Daiichi Sankyo and Pfizer Pharma.

Andrea Zini has received funding for speaker honoraria and consulting fees from Boehringer-Ingelheim and Medtronic, for scientific advisory board from Boehringer-Ingelheim, Daiichi-Sankyo, Alexion and Stryker.

Patrik Michel received research grants from the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Heart Foundation; consulting and speaker fees from Medtronic.

Yannick Béjot received honoraria for lectures or consulting fees from BMS, Pfizer, Medtronic, Amgen, Servier, NovoNordisk, and Boehringer-Ingelheim. Andreas Kastrup reports no disclosures.

Marialuisa Zedde received travel and speakers honoraria from Bayer, AMICUS, Sanofi-Genzyme, Abbott, Shire-Takeda, GE, DAIICHI – SANKYO and advisory board honoraria from Amicus, Takeda, Sanofi-Genzyme, DAIICHI – SANKYO.

Georg Kägi has received modest honoraria for travel and advisory board from Bayer, Boehringer-Ingelheim and Zambon and a research grant from the Swiss Heart Foundation, Swiss Parkinson Foundation, Swiss National Science Foundation.

Lars Kellert reports funding for travel or speaker honoraria from Bayer Vital Boehringer Ingelheim, Bristol Myers Squibb, Daiichi Sankyo and Pfizer outside the submitted work.

Hilde Henon has received modest speaker honoraria Sanofi Genzyme.

Sami Curtze reports no disclosures.

Alessandro Pezzini has received research grants from Associazione Italiana per la Lotta alla Trombosi e alle Malattie Cardiovascolari (ALT).

Marcel Arnold received Speaker honoraria from Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim, and Covidien; Scientific advisory board honoraria from Amgen, Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim, BMS, Pfizer, Covidien, Daichy Sankyo and Nestlé Health Science. Research grants from the Swiss Heart Foundation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Susanne Wegener received research funds by the Swiss National Science Foundation, the UZH Clinical research priority program (CRPP) stroke, the Swiss Heart foundation, the Zurich Neuroscience Center (ZNZ), Boehringer- Ingelheim (2016), speaker honoraria from Amgen (2018), Springer (2021), Teva.

Peter Ringleb has received modest honoraria for lectures and advisory board from Boehringer-Ingelheim. The University Hospital Heidelberg is sponsor of the ECASS4-trial, examining the role of rtPA in an extended time-window, which is financed by Boehringer-Ingelheim.

Turgut Tatlisumak has received academic grants from University of Gothenburg, Sahlgrenska University Hospital, Sigrid Juselius Foundation, Wennerström Foundation, and European Union. Dr. Tatlisumak serves/has served on advisory boards from Bayer, Bristol Myers Squibb, Portola Pharma, and Inventiva.

Paul J. Nederkoorn has received funding from the Dutch Heart Foundation for acute stroke intervention trials in the Collaboration for New Trials in Stroke (CONTRAST) consortium.

Stefan T. Engelter has received funding for travel or speaker honoraria from Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim, and Daiichi-Sankyo. He has served on scientific advisory boards for Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim, BMS/Pfizer, and MindMaze and on the editorial board of *Stroke*. His institutions have received an educational grant from Pfizer, compensation from Stago for educational efforts and research support from Daiichi-Sankyo, the Science Funds [Wissenschaftsfonds] of the University Hospital Basel, the University Basel, from the "Wissenschaftsfonds Rehabilitation" of the University Hospital for Geriatric Medicine Felix Platter, the "Freiwillige Akademische Gesellschaft Basel," the Swiss Heart Foundation, and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Henrik Gensicke has received research support from the Swiss National Science Foundation, advisory board honoraria from Daiichi Sankyo and funding for travel from BMS/Pfizer. All other authors report no relevant disclosures.